Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Jeans Bag November 17, 2009

Filed under: Sewing — aliessa @ 3:41 am

Not long after I had our first child, and I had a few extra kilos, I bought a pair of jeans that were incredibly comfortable. They weren’t expensive, they were a colour I liked, and they fit really well. The best pair of jeans I have ever owned. But, as that was almost 8 years ago, my favourite pair of jeans deteriorated. One knee developed a rip, which I patched, but there are only so many times you can patch a hole. After the fifth time it ripped I decided they need to be retired. But I just couldn’t bring myself to throw them out. So instead I cut them up and made them into a handy bag!

From the waist band to mid thigh made the right size for the bag. I just cut along the seams of the inner leg, opened them out and overlapped them to sew it up. The remaining length of the legs  cut into strips and joined together to give double thickness was just enough to make into hadles. It was really simple, the waistband meant no sewing at the top. The buttons and pockets give the bag it’s own unique look and there are plenty of belt loops to hang my keys on! I love to use it when we go out as a family as I have so many things to take with me aside from the ususal stuff that goes in a nappy bag (which comes too!)

 

Leave a Reply

