Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ladies Market Night November 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aliessa @ 6:41 am

Two weeks ago my children’s school P & C hosted a “Ladies Market Night” fundraiser. Basically the ladies of the school community were offered (for a small fee) the opportunity to set up a stand to advertise their business & sell their products. So my two sisters and I went along with Stampin’ Up! It was a fun night. We got to sit around stampin’ for 2 hours and tell other people about the gorgeous products. We also thought we might try to sell some of our cards, so in the week leading up to it we spent a few days card making. I wanted to share these cards before the remaining few disappeared!

This is my favourite! I sat down late the night before market night because I really wanted to add some Christmas cards to our selection. This one was a fluke. I really wanted to use this stamp from the ‘Season of Joy’ set – I have seen it on a few cards around the blogs. So I decided on Riding Hood Red and Kiwi Kiss as the main colour theme (what better than red and green for Christmas) then threw in a splash of white when the Kiwi Kiss DS paper didn’t quite stand out. I used RH Red 5/8 ” striped grosgrain ribbon and that was it. So very simple, but I love the way the colours burst from the card.

This card is pretty much straight from Amy. I’ve used this layout a couple of times with different stamp sets. But her original, using the ‘Great Friend’ set was so effective I wanted to use it too. I used different colours and left out the masking, (due to time). But I was still pleased with the overall look. I have used: cardstock – chocolate chip, whisper white, kiwi kiss (and an orange one from somewhere else that needed using up!); ink: kiwi kiss, riding hood red, chocolate chip; punches – scallop circle, 1 3/8″ circle

 

The layout for both of these cards came from mojo monday. I have used the ‘live like you mean it’ level 1 hostess gift set with pacific point DS paper and ink, and the scallop edge punch. And the second I have used the ‘party hearty’ stamp set with Tangerine Tango DS paper, chocolate chip card stock and ink, with the scallop cirlce and scallop edge punches.  Both cards are on a very vanilla base.

For the night we were also required to provide a raffle prize. I saw Amy’s gorgeous lucky door prize she made and thankfully she was willing to share information! So this is my version. 

                          

Inside the gorgeous little folder are 18 handmade die cuts ready for use with any card or scrapbooking project!

I don’t know about anyone else, but coming up with card layouts that I’m happy with is not one of my strong suits. So I am very grateful to all those wonderful people who allow me to CASE their work! I’m hoping one day I will come up with some FABULOUS project and be able to return the favour…

 

One Response to “Ladies Market Night”

  1. becreativewithamy Says:

    They look great Aliessa!

    And I know how you feel about wanting to make your own layouts. A lot of my ideas are just bits and pieces of other stamper’s ideas all put together.

    I wish I could take full credit for all the things I’ve made but I always feel like I’ve had ‘help’ from someone else. I think that’s what is so special about stampers and scrappers online (and in real life). Everyone is willing to share ideas and help each other to make beautiful cards and scrap pages.

    I don’t know where I’d be if the internet wasn’t available. I love searching all the blogs out there and yours is always on my list. You do a great job.

    Happy stamping,

    Amy


Leave a Reply

