Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Criss Cross Boxes December 31, 2009

Filed under: 3D projects,Cards,Gift Ideas — aliessa @ 3:31 am

As I’m still relatively new to this blogging thing, I am finding so many beautiful things to make on other people’s blogs. My Nana loves to give cards, so I thought a gift of handmade cards for Christmas would be perfect. And once again, packaging can make it look so much nicer! This criss cross box was adapted from a pattern by Nichole Heady.

I only realised after making the box that it was intended for love note size cards! So I adapted the pattern to make it fit six 6 x 4 cards and matching envelopes.

I have used chocolate chip and very vanilla cardstock for the box and cards. I stamped with Riding Hood Red, Kiwi Kiss and chocolate chip inks (I can’t seem to get enough of this colour combination), using the “Great Friend” stamp set (spring mini). And finished it off with a “lacy” look (so Nana-ish) using the eyelet border punch.

This Christmas on my side of the family we all made gifts to give, rather than purchasing them. It made us think really hard about what we could give and also saved some money (but not time!). So that is why I made the cards for Nana. After making a few boxes before getting the right size I realised just how quick and simple they are to make.

My Dad is a hanky man. He always has one in his pocket. Many times I remember crying and Dad would have his hanky ready for me. So, for him I made 4 jumbo sized hankies and packaged them in a criss cross box. I wanted it to look manly, so no scallop edges or eyelet borders here. I just used a length of Kiwi Kiss ribbon with a stamped tag, attached with foamies.

 

One Response to “Criss Cross Boxes”

  1. becreativewithamy Says:

    I’m going to have to use this idea. Looks impressive.


Leave a Reply

