Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Easel card February 19, 2010

Filed under: Cards — aliessa @ 3:40 am

I have seen this gorgeous little card on a number of blogs and really wanted to have a go. So I made this one for my mother in law for her birthday.

The layout I cased from my beautiful friend Adele – she is so incredibly creative. I found a really simple tutorial on line from Andrea Hayes. For the base card I have used Riding Hood Red cardstock. The DS Paper is also RHR. 

I’ve punched a scallop circle in pink pirouhette, layered it with a choc chip circle (hand cut – but only because I don’t have the right sized circle yet!) And then I’ve stamped the cup cake from the Party Hearty stamp set in Ruby Red & choc chip, then I used the 1 1/4″ circle punch to crop it for the top layer.

The sentiment is from Short & Sweet, stamped in choc chip on very vanilla card, edges inked in choc chip. The lacy bottom edge is also very vanilla punched using the eyelet border.

For the inside I have wrapped a length of hemp twine around a pink pirouhette square to fit (edges inked in RHR then with Choc chip – gives a nice effect!), tied with a small knot. This is to rest the front of the card on to keep it upright. My message is on the top half of the square hidden behind the “easel”. This way the card can be displayed without everyone and anyone reading your personal message.

 

Leave a Reply

