Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Easter Gifts April 1, 2010

Whew! We’re almost there already!! I can’t believe it. This year for Easter our family decided to minimise our spending (like at Christmas), and focus more on the Saviour, so I had a lot less shopping to do! Yay! However, I still made some gifts for the kids teachers.

First up, this gorgeous little bunny idea came from Marelle. How cute is he?? 

I especially love his “fluffy” white tail! It is just 4 scallop cirles held together with a brad and scrunched up. (I’m sure this idea came from Amy in the form of a paper flower – just a little adaption!)

And his face is made from circle punches (1 3/4″, 1″ & 1/2″), the ears I cut using my cricut. I’ve given the face a little depth by inking the edges of the large cirlce and the cheeks. And I’ve popped up his cheeks with a couple of foamies.  I finished him off with a little bow tie and tag (also from my cricut), and filled up his belly with eggs and peanut mms! Yum!

 

The second gift I made for teachers is Nichole Heady’s really cute bird box!! I first saw this over at Amy’s blog. If you want to have a go yourself click on Nichole’s link.

So, I’ve copied Amy’s idea of leaving one side open (but held closed with a hemp twine bow). So as not to destroy the gorgeous little creation when extracting the yummy goodies inside!

I really enjoyed making both projects, I think because the outcome was so rewarding!

 

 

Leave a Reply

