Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Party Decorations June 13, 2010

Filed under: 3D projects,Kids activities — aliessa @ 12:20 am

My youngest son recently turned 1! I wanted to make his invitations and have party favours to match, as well as the cake and decorations. I really should have learned by now that if I want to get all that done I really should start earlier than the day before!!

I managed to get the invitations done a week before the party (we had just family so I had already told everybody anyway…hee!) 

 

 

How excited was I to finally get my hands on the “Fox & Friends” clear mount set??!!! So cute!! And so super easy to put together and use! I’ve also used “crazy for cupcakes” for the balloons and my cricut for the number 1 (I am yet to master this machine – I’ve had it for a year and a half and only just figured out there is a “shadow” function! Shows how much time I spend using stamps – perhaps I should invest some of that time in my cricut!)

For the party favours I filled up a cellophane bag with goodies, and tied it closed with a ribbon. Then I stamped the little monkey, punched it out with the 1 3/8″ circle punch, inked the edges and mounted it with foamies on a scallop circle and popped him on the front.

For all intents and purposes I planned to have a monkey-shaped cake, but that went out the window when I ran out of time. So instead I made 3 more favour monkeys, attached them to toothpicks and popped them on top of the creamy-white icing. Honestly I think it turned out great! And less work made it even better (and it tasted really yummy!)

My little boy had a fun night with our family. I was so glad to see him enjoying himself and genuinely happy!

I hope this is helpful to any mums trying to organise a birthday celebration with minimal fuss and expense, but still have it look impressive! Happy crafting!

Aliessa

Stamps: fox & friends (clearmount), crazy for cupcakes. Ink: chocolate chip, pacific point. Cardstock: whisper white, pacific point, pumpkin pie, washington apple DSP. other accessories: chocolate chip marker, 1 3/8″ circle punch, scallop circle punch, corner rounder punch, cricut machine

 

One Response to “Party Decorations”

  1. VERY impressive!!!!! You’ve made that stamp set look so cute – and I LOVE the toothpick toppers! Just gorgeous – so glad you got it all worked out in the end!!! xxx


Leave a Reply

