Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Teacher appreciation June 13, 2010

Filed under: 3D projects,Gift Ideas,Stampin' Up! — aliessa @ 10:26 pm

So, a few posts back I mentioned that my oldest son’s school building had recently been destroyed and his teacher was somewhat distressed by all of this…This week was her birthday! So I’ve been thinking for the last couple of weeks that I would like to make her some “useful things”.

I started with a sign for their classroom door (I forgot to take a photo). And then some games for their Friday morning maths groups that I help out with. For that I found a useful website by Dr Mike. Loads of fun math games for all ages.

Then I got onto another site that is linked to splitcoast stamper called Spotted Canary, which gave some great ideas for teacher gifts.

So, I started with a clipboard and simply covered it with some (retired) DS paper and a strip of Kiwi Kiss ribbon. Simple, but something a little more than a boring clip board. You could even add the teacher’s name somewhere on the board (but once again, I was out of time!)

Then I moved on to 3 notepads.

I tried to use the same layout and just change the “feature” and colour scheme

I started with the butterfly from Great Friend (LOVE this butterfly!)

Then I moved on to use the gorgeous (and oh-so-easy-to-use)  XL  2 step Bird punch from the autumn/winter mini. This punch was a gift from my lovely sister, and I LOVE it!

The third notebook I really wanted to use embossing on. For my birthday my other sister gave me some silver embossing powder and a good friend gave me a heating tool! So I decided it was time to try it out. So I’ve stamped the ferny bit in versa mark then powdered it and heated it up – I had forgotten how simple it really is (I think the last time I used embossing powders was when I was in grade 6 and we heated it over a toaster!) Pop on a paper flower and sentiment to finish it off!

And for the final part of the gift I bundled up a couple of Cadbury Furry friends, wrapped in a piece of DS paper to match the clip board, then added the sayings “When all else fails…EAT CHOCOLATE” and “Good friends bring CHOCOLATE”.

Hopefully she will find these things useful!

Thanks for stopping by

Aliessa

Stamps: Great Friend (retired), pocket silhouettes, Life definitions, short & sweet Inks: Ruby Red, chocolate chip, wild wasabi,creamy caramel, versa mark cardstock: creamy caramel, ruby red, pacific point, whisper white, very vanilla, garden green, berry bliss (retired) other accessories: chocolate chip marker, silver embossing powder, heat tool, XL 2 step bird punch, kiwi kiss striped ribbon

 

One Response to “Teacher appreciation”

  1. How gorgeous Aliessa!!!! I love the notebooks – lots and lots and lots!!!! Pocket Silhouettes looks AMAZING!!! And can’t wait to try the clipboard – stunning!!! xxx


Leave a Reply

