Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I call it “The Suitable Collection” October 20, 2010

Filed under: Cards,Items for Sale,Stampin' Up! — aliessa @ 3:12 am

Ha Ha! Just me playing silly imaginations! One day I dream of having my own little store with all things gorgeous and crafty to sell…If that were to EVER happen, I want a range of cards that are called “The Suitable Collection”. In it I would have cards that are suitable for any occasion without the sentiment attached. A set of cards would come with a bunch of sentiments pre-stamped and cut just waiting to be attached, so the person giving the card could choose at the time what sentiment to adhere (if any). I also want to have a Christmas range, a birthday range, a baby range, etc etc….A girl can dream right? 🙂

ANYWAY, last year the kids school P & C ran a Ladies Market night where mum’s (and in some cases dads) could come along to sell their wares, for a small fee, to the community. It was a fun night, and I am hoping they are running it again this year. In anticipation I have started making a few sets of cards to sell

This was the first card I made. Each set has 5 cards, I made 6 so that I would have one to keep and make again if needed. I have used a lot of retired SU products in these cards in hopes of using up all my retired CS and DSP, sell some nice cards and be able to buy some new stuff!

I LOVE this card! That little sheep is just too darn cute! At my last card class one of the ladies showed us all how to make the sheep. She said she had seen it on the internet, but for all the googling I’ve done, I can’t find this exact sheep (there are quite a few very similar though). So, to whoever the credit is due, I apologise. I still love him. I’ve used the SU scallop circle punch, word window punch and large oval punch. The hills are made from (retired) SU Kiwi Kiss DSP. Don’t you just love him? I made a different colour version of this for my husband’s boss, whose wife recently had a baby boy. So adorable as a baby card!

If you frequent adelisa designs blog you may have seen a very similar card to this there. I have borrowed the idea of the monkey (SU fox & friends) swinging from the tree branch (SU cheep talk) from Lisa. She & Adele are so talented! I’ve added my own touches with the rick-a-rack and button.

These 3 are all the same design, I’ve just made the backing CS & the ink for the giraffe different colours to suit baby boy, girl or neutral. What do you think of the background paper? Cute huh? I used a sheet of SU whisper white CS and stamped the giraffe from SU set fox & friends in the 3 colours (kiwi kiss, baja breeze & pink pirouhette), in different directions. I’ve finished it off with the sentiment “a star is born” from SU picture this. In a set of 5 I have included 2 pink, 2 blue & 1 green.

I love these two Christmas cards as well. The first uses the tree from SU season of joy. I’ve embossed the base using SU polka dots impression folder. The second card is a varied CASE of an example in the SU catalogue & ideas book. So sweet. I am enjoying using embossing powders to highlight images and the impressions folders now that I have a Big Shot.

These last 2 are two of the cards we will be making in next months Christmas Card class (Thursday 25th November 7.30 at my house). The third will use SU snow swirled, but is yet to be created 🙂

All these cards are 4″ x 4″, 5 cards in a set. Have a go at making these yourself, if you don’t own some of the retired products just replace them with something similar. If it all seems too hard, I am selling them for $10/set. (plus p/h if required), and am only to happy to take the hard work out of it for you! Just send me an email robandlu@optusnet.com.au

I really hope the Ladies Market Night goes ahead, as I am busily making cards, wood blocks and other crafty goodies to sell (which is why I have been absent from blog land for so long). But if it doesn’t, at least I will have plenty of cards and gifts ready to go!

I hope the sun is shining where you are (even if it’s raining here – a nice day to catch up on posting!)

Aliessa

 

 

2 Responses to “I call it “The Suitable Collection””

  1. Auntie Duck Says:

    beautiful job Aliessa, such a crafty chic you are.

  2. Bev Cowan Says:

    WOW Aliessa – they all look great! I hope the market goes ahead – it’ll be a great chance to make some craft money and I think you’ll be very popular. Nice to see you are still crafting. XX


Leave a Reply

