Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Live, Laugh, Love October 20, 2010

Filed under: 3D projects,Gift Ideas — aliessa @ 1:32 am

 

Live well, Laugh often, Love much – this is one of my favourite sayings. It’s a good motto for life I reckon!

This weekend just gone we had a lovely lunch out to celebrate a friends 30th birthday. I’ve been looking a lot at the site “How Does She?”. If you’ve not seen it before click on the link (the site name) to take a look, it is well worth a look. They have posts on craft, cooking, all sorts of wonderful goodies to make! Anyway, what does that have to do with the saying? I was looking at all their wood craft by Alison and I just LOVE what she can do with a 4 x 2 piece of wood! I thought, “hmm…I could have a go at some of those things”, so I did. For our friend I made a block stack of that saying.

I haven’t used 4 x 2 for this project, I’ve used 42 x 42mm pine cut to length. I used SU Haiku paper to cover all the surfaces, then used my cricut to cut out the lettering. Tied a ribbon round it and voila, done! (not quite as quick as that sounds with all the waiting for glue to dry and the endless sanding…but simple)

I whipped up a bag and card to go with it, and I was certainly pleased with the finished result. What do you think? It’s worth having a go yourself! Next I’m going to try this really cute chore “chart” they have! Keep your eyes peeled for it…

Now, a few posts ago I mentioned Sure Cuts A Lot 2, which many of you may have heard of, but I hadn’t until recently. It’s software for your computer that works with the Cricut to cut out ANY true font you want! So you can download free fonts/dingbats (or purchased, whatever) and install them on your computer and use them. Also if you have a picture you want to cut out you can use this software to convert it and cut it out with the Cricut!! I am still a newbie and not quite worked out all the ins and outs, but the more I use it the more I love it! To be honest, if all it did was give me the use of the fonts I’d be quite happy, as cartridges cost SO much. I found a great site, SVG cuts, where you can download free and purchased files to use! I have a couple of projects I’m working on right now using some of their files, I’ll post them soon. The only negative thing I have to say is that I couldn’t get SCAL2 to work with Windows 7. Fortunately we have a second computer in our house that the kids use for school stuff which runs on Windows Vista and it works brilliantly.

Well, feeling chirpy today, I have a couple of cards to post shortly!

🙂 Aliessa

Blocks: 42 x 42mm pine, SU Haiku DSP (retired), wood glue, sand paper, SU choc chip CS, SU choc chip marker, Cricut, SCAL2 – font Pea Laura, SU choc chip ribbon (retired), matt spray finish.

Bag: SU Pink Flamingo DSP (retired), SU old olive ribbon, SU Jumbo pewter eyelets, crop-o-dile

 

Leave a Reply

