Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Halloween…in Australia?? October 21, 2010

Filed under: 3D projects,Gift Ideas — aliessa @ 3:20 am

As we know, Halloween is not a traditional Australian celebration, which our children think is MOST unfortunate (and as a child I agreed, now it doesn’t really bother me). However, last year our kids decided they wanted to dress up. Our neighbours have 2 little girls who are around the same age as 2 of our kids, they wanted to dress up too. So we went trick or treating to each other’s houses. They had a BLAST! Mum next door is so much fun and loves Halloween too, so their house was decorated with cobwebs and other such things. It was really quite fun.

This year we are planning to do the same thing, so I have prepared for the treat part early!

How cute are these? !!

This cute bon bon is made with a free SVG file from SVG cuts (made especially for Australians apparently – I was not aware that Christmas crackers aka bonbons were not in America – is this true? Surely not!). So easy!! The background of the skull is stamped with a circle of dots randomly to make it look like it’s covered in dots (aah, love stamps!) then inked around the edges with a sponge. The skull and cross bones is from a talented lady who shares free SVG files that she creates (THANK YOU!!). Click here for her blog. Then I added a little strip of CS either side and wrote on Trick or Treat. The ends are just tied with a length of white ribbon. This guy,- along with his twin, will go to my 2 older sons, filled with yummy treats (we even have some American candy at the moment thanks to family recently visiting the states – what a treat!)

Now, this one I’ve made a few of for my daughter & the neighbour girls. I really like it because it’s got all the right elements – it’s a “hand bag”, and therefore girly; the pumpkin and BOO say ‘halloween’, and I think the colour combo with that flourish give it just a touch of elegance. What do you think?

Super easy to make. The bag itself is a die from Papertrey Ink, so cut it out and stick the right parts together. The pumpkin is made from 5 SU large ovals punched from Tangerine tango (retired – but any orange CS would do). I inked the edges with choc chip ink, using a sponge, just to give them that slight 3D effect. Next I used my Cricut to cut out the pumpkin backing. I downloaded a free SVG (again from SVG cuts) of Harold the Jack-o-lantern and cut just the bottom layer in green. I scaled to about 2 inches (not sure on exact measurements) it was still a little long, but that’s ok, that’s what scissors are for. I adhered the ovals in place and used some foam adhesive to stick it the the bag. The flourish is also from SVG cuts. The “BOO” is font Arial Black cut on my cricut – aaah LOVING my cricut now that I have more things to cut with it!

Hmm…getting excited! The kids have seen their goodies and have given approval, so now just waiting for the right day to roll around!

What Halloween goodies are you making? Have a great day and enjoy your craft time!

Aliessa

 

 

Leave a Reply

