Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Christmas Planner November 18, 2010

Filed under: 3D projects,Christmas,Cricut,Gift Ideas — aliessa @ 11:35 pm

Well, I’ve told you how much I admire Dawn McVey. For today’s post I have made a Christmas Planner that I saw on Dawn’s Blog (click here to see hers). I am a list girl. I make lists for EVERYTHING. And often I will make 2 or 3 lists for the same event. I like to have something to refer to, to make sure I don’t forget anything. So this project was ideal for me!

I started with a neutral colour CS. My size is slightly bigger than Dawn’s to accomodate an Australian C6 envelope. So, this size is 9 1/2″ x 6 5/8″. folded in half. First I used the snowflake image from SU Season of Joy and the small snowflake in SU Short and Sweet to create a seasonal background in versamark. Then I’ve added a length of deep red ribbon (recycled from a gift), topped it with a Papertrey Mat Stack 4 die cut and a gorgeous scallop circle flower. I’ve hand written Christmas Planner ’10.

Inside I’ve seperated each section with a title page. for this one, I ran it through the Big Shot with the bottom 2/3 in a woodgrain embossing folder. Then I’ve wrapped a length of ribbon around where the embossing folder ended. Again I’ve used the mat stack 4 die, topped with a red doily cut with my cricut, a 1 3/4″circle in the middle and the lettering is my cheap little letters set from crazy clarks!

For this divider I’ve run it through the Big Shot with a polka dot embossing folder. I’ve die cut a length of rick a rack from red CS. The mat stack 4 die is topped with a smaller doily shape, the snowflake from SU Season of Joy punched out with the 1 1/4″ circle punch. I’ve added a little bit of detail around the edge of the mat stack 4 by drawing in stitching lines with my SU Choc Chip marker. Then finally the Food tag is again stamped on.

On the tops of the note pages I’ve stamped Family, friends (for the gifts section) and Christmas Day, Snacks (for the food section).

I’ve added 2 envelopes at the back, this one is for coupons/catalogue pages. Sometimes I’ll go through the junk mail and find things I like, I thought I could rip that page out and slip it in here so that I can refer to it when I actually get to the shops!

This one is for receipts (thanks Dawn!). I think this is a GREAT idea. Every Christmas we try to file away our receipts, but inevitably we lose the receipt for the one toy that breaks! So, I think this will be great for that.

And finally, on the inside cover I’ve added a little pocket for Gift Cards. Toward the end of each year we claim our rewards points from our credit card as Gift cards, which we then put towards Christmas Presents. By putting them here, everything’s in one place!

I was so excited by my planner when it was finished, I decided to make one for my mum and my 2 married sisters. Hopefully this will encourage us to start planning Christmas dinner now!

What do you think? Give one a go, it was so satisfying to make, and I’ve already filled a couple of pages!

Have a happy day!

Aliessa

 

One Response to “A Christmas Planner”

  1. Auntie Duck Says:

    Aliessa, You are brilliant!! And I’ve already started using mine too Thanks!


Leave a Reply

