Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tiles and Vinyl April 22, 2011

Filed under: 3D projects,birthdays,Cricut,Gift Ideas,Sure Cuts A Lot 2 — aliessa @ 10:46 am

Recently some friends celebrated their engagement. I was stumped for what to give as a gift. Fortunately I have an awesome sister-in-law, who gave me a FABULOUS birthday present that was ideal to copy!

What she made for me was a 12 x 12 frame painted rustic cream with a saying in vinyl letters “Family, a journey to forever”.

I didn’t have a frame, but I do have a local Bunnings store where I picked up a tile and some fixings for a stand.

This is what I came up with…

I used SCAL2 and my cricut to cut out the lettering and flourish.

The stand was made from these metal pieces and bolts, secured to

These wall bracket thingys.

Put together it looks like this…

The metal parts and bolts were only available in silver, so my darling husband bought some matt black spray paint and painted them to match. However, I will warn you – if you decide to make your own, assemble the stand FIRST, then paint the silver parts, it all blends right in. If you do it the other way, the threads of the bolts get gunked up with paint and you can’t tighten them properly – yes, I’m talking from experience! 🙂

It was a fun project, one you might like to try yourself!

Happy Crafting

Aliessa

 

Leave a Reply

