Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Pin cushion and other sewing things May 24, 2011

Filed under: 3D projects,Gift Ideas,Sewing — aliessa @ 2:23 am

For about 5 years I’ve wanted to make myself a weighted pin cushion and scrapbag to use when I’m sewing. About 3 months ago I found a great tutorial on line for a gorgeous set to make! How excited was I?? I guess not excited enough to make it straight away…but I did get around to it finally 🙂

I have made 3 so far. This one I made for myself. I love that green floral fabric. I picked it up years ago in the remnants bin at Spotlight, and have used it for a couple of projects. It is running out, I wish I had some more.

The organiser consists of a weighted pin cushion, a pocket panel and a scrap bag. The pincushion has a felt section in the middle for needles and 2 fabric sides for pins. The pocket panel has 4 pockets to store small scissors, a quick unpick and other sewing things. It also has a loop to attach the scrap bag.

The second one I made was for my sister-in-law, but I forgot to photograph it – it was 3 shades of pink.

And this is the one I made today for my big sister’s birthday.

The colours are a bit bolder – I’ll call it autumn (seeing as we are experiencing that season). Now that I think about it, these colours match the glorious liquid amber tree that is in our front yard. At this time of year it sheds all the leaves in beautiful shades of gold – in a thick blanket over our driveway and front yard. It’s gorgeous to see, just a little pain to clean up 🙂

This photo doesn’t really do it justice, but I just snapped it now so I could show you.

Well, that’s all for today. I hope you are all enjoying lovely weather and rewarding craft time!

Aliessa

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

