Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Some sewing June 24, 2011

Filed under: 3D projects,Gift Ideas,Sewing — aliessa @ 1:15 am

Hi there! It’s the last day of school for my big kiddies and I’m sooooo excited! These cold winter mornings have just made it so hard to drag myself out of bed, let alone convince the kids they should get up 😉 2 weeks off, and really looking forward to not having to get up and go, or make lunches! hehe

Anyway! Recently I came across a gorgeous little baby bib on the net. I really liked it for the patchwork and quilting that was used. I have made quite a few applique baby quilts in the last 10 years, but never really mastered “quilting”. So I bought the pattern on line so I could learn. Unfortuantely the pattern didn’t show me how! How disappointed was I? But that was ok, because it did tell me that the form of quilting is called ‘free-motion’. So I googled it and found a bunch of blogs and you tube videos that showed me how, yay!

I rummaged through my fabric box and found some co-ordinating fabrics and made my own patchwork fabric to cut the pattern from, then set about making up these 5 bibs.

I was tickled pink with the result! Free motion quilting is very simple – but I quickly learnt that it’s not really easy. It took quite a bit of practice to figure out how to get that swirly motion right. I used some cheap wadding and calico “sandwiches” to practice on and just kept going over and over and over and over, adding new calico when the lines got too much and I couldn’t really tell if I was doing it right anyway. I eventually decided to have a try on one of the bibs – and had to unpick it! But finally I got the hang of it…

There are a few “pointy” bits, but the more I do, the better they look.

I originally wanted to make these for my niece for her birthday in September (I started early in case I really couldn’t do it), so I wanted to make a few different colours. these were my second batch. I just used a single fabric.

(yet another bad photo)

And my latest batch – I again went through my box of fabrics and pulled out pinks and purples. I really like these ones, not quite finished yet, but they will be soon enough (and I still have a couple of months)

So, what do you think? I don’t know how I’d go on anything bigger than a bib, but it’s a good place to start I think! I might try some shapes next (like flowers and spirals). Wish me luck!

Checkout this hand bag – I think it’s gorgeous. Mine is past it’s used by date and is falling apart, so I thought I might try my hand at making one similar to this. We’ll see how that goes….

Thanks for stopping in today!

Happy Crafting

Aliessa

 

Leave a Reply

