Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The final piece December 21, 2011

I wanted to pop in and show you the last item we made at the December card class.

How cute is this?? I waited and waited for my top note die to arrive in the post. Somehow the parcel was lost and I had to have it re-ordered. Two weeks after my original order both orders turned up in the same delivery!

To make the bag I started with an 8″ x 6″ rectangle of chocolate chip cardstock. I scored 3″ in from each end on the long side and 1 1/2″ in from each edge on the short side. Then cut and fold it up to make a box.

Next I die cut 2 chip board top notes and 4 whisper white top notes. On 2 of the WW top notes I stamped snowflakes from SU Snow Swirled and PTI Post marks. I stamped the largest snowflake in Cherry Cobbler, the next size in Pear Pizzazz, the smallest from Snow swirled inDaffodil Delight and then the snow flake from PTI Post marks in Tempting Turquoise. I LOVE these colours all together – it makes it look like a beautiful designer paper!

Next I cut 2 9″ lengths of ribbon for the handles and made my front and back sandwiches. I adhered one plain white top note to a chip board top note, with the ribbon poisitioned and secured between them, then repeated this with the other pieces. Then I adhered the “designer” white top note to the front. I set these aside to dry while I made my little reindeer, then used strong double sided tape to fix them to the front and back of the box.

To make the reindeer I used my cricut to cut a 2″ oval and a 1″ circle from choc chip cardstock. These make the head and snout. I punched 2 white 1/2″ circles and stamped them with a black circle to make the eyes, and a red 1/2″ cricle for the rudolph nose. The ears are the tail of SU bird punch and the antlers are the SU Swirls and Scribbles die (this was something else I was waiting for in the order that went missing), cut from crumb cake cardstock.

I’ve adhered it all together with snail adhesive. Then for the finishing touches I used a white gel pen to add a little “shine” to each eye and his nose. I’ve also used my basic black marker to draw a line down from his nose on the snout – it just made him look finished.

Before I popped him on the front with foam adhesive I quickly cut a strip of Cherry Cobbler cardstock, layered on a whisper white banner that I stamped with the greeting from Snow Swirled in Cherry Cobbler. Aaah, this makes me happy.

The card class was great fun! Everyone has a few extra tags and cards to give away this Christmas and this cute little bag to pop some yummy treats in for someone special! (Although, from what was said, I’m not sure too many will be given away – he’s so cute we all want to keep him for ourselves!!)

Thanks for stopping in today,

Happy Crafting!

Aliessa

 

Leave a Reply

