Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A “first” March 5, 2010

Once upon a time, before I was introduced to Stampin’ Up! I scrapbooked. In the last year I think I have created a total of maybe 7 pages. I have an album for each of my children and one for our family. Yesterday I decided I might rekindle the little scrapbooking flame by creating a page for my baby boy (who is not such a baby anymore!)

Scrapping is something I prefer to do on my own – only because when I scrap with my friends I don’t seem to get much done! I’m too busy looking at all their beautiful pages! Unfortunately I’ve never been great at adding a lot of embellishments to my pages (or this could be fortunate from my husband’s point of view, as less money gets spent!) so most of my pages are clean and simple.

I was sooo excited to use these chipboard letters! I wasn”t sure how to cover them, but then I remembered reading in a magazine that they could be inked. So I whipped out my most favourite colour ink – chocolate chip (what else?) and sponged it on. I really like the way they turned out! The little tag is hand cut, then I used my corner punch to round the corners and my crop-a-dile to punch the hole. Of course it’s chocolate chip ink too. The lettering, however is not Stampin’ Up. Would you believe I picked the set up for about $2 from Crazy Clark’s years ago, and this is first time I’ve used them!

The background paper is Haiku DSP and the border around my photos (and the tag) is more mustard cardstock. I’ve printed the journalling on a sheet of translucent paper and fastened it on with 4 gold brads (don’t look too closely though – the ink was still wet and I managed to smudge it, oops!)

It was nice to spend some time scrapping, I think I will do it again this weekend! 🙂

 

 

3 Responses to “A “first””

  1. Louise Says:

    Love it! I’m a big fan of “Clean and Simple” and letting the photos have the limelight. Well done!

    Reminds me that I’ve done no scrapbooking at all yet this year! Whoops.

  2. Adele Francis Says:

    Me too loves clean and simple!!! i really really love this layout/page and funnily enough I was just thinking this afternoon as I was trying to concentrate on piano students (hehehehe) that if I had more energy I would love to pull out some scrapping tonight!!! After seeing this I just may go ahead and do that! Thanks for being so gorgeous…xxx

  3. Bev Cowan Says:

    Aliessa!! I finally found your blog – hurray!!! It is beautiful and you are doing some stunning things. Just love it all. I’m so jealous. I have no crafting life. boo hooooooooo 😦
    I love your scrapbooking. Clean and simple is beautiful – it’s my style too. It’s all about the photos! X


Leave a Reply

