Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

An invite or two May 10, 2011

Filed under: birthdays,Cards,Cricut,family stuff,Stampin' Up!,Sure Cuts A Lot 2 — aliessa @ 1:34 am

Recently my “little” girl turned 8. As I’ve mentioned in a previous post in our church 8 is the age when we are baptised. So this was a significant birthday for our family. I just wanted to show you the invitations I made for her baptism and princess party the following day.

Very simple. I had some white ribbed vellum paper that I printed the info on. Then attached it to a white piece of cardstock with a white ribbon. I ran out of one sort of ribbon before finishing all the invitations so changed that, but I was really happy with both styles.

This one was a little more involved. I started with a pink pirouhette base, then layere on the purple lace border (this is an SVG file for the cricut – I downloaded it long enough ago that I have no idea where it came from, so my apologies to the very clever person who deserves the credit!). I’ve used PTI Mat Stack 4 in white cardstock, mounted with foam adhesive. On that I’ve stamped the little girl face from SU! All in the family (inked with markers to get the different colours), and the “You’re invited” stamp is from SU! Sincere Salutations. I’ve inked the edges in Melon Mambo.

On the base card I’ve stamped the beautiful butterfly from SU! SAB set Bliss in versamark then sprinkled on heat and stick powder, heated it and sprinkled on Dazzling Diamonds glitter. I love the effect it gives – but it was a bit of effort and A LOT of glittery mess on my table! But well worth it to see how much Livvi loved it.

And one last photo

This is one of the party favors I made for the 12 girls who came to her princess party. The princess face is from Betsy Veldman, she has a free PDF template you can use. I adhered it to a pink carton from the dollar store and filled it with princess things – I can’t remember what exactly now, but I do remember there was a “septor”, a cute little note pad, lollies (of course), and a bunch of other girly things… And I hand wrote each girls name on a rectangle of white cardstock with a little flower stamped at either end and adhered it under the princess face.

She had a wonderful birthday spread over 3 days (having the baptism and party on seperate days to her actual birthday helped 😉 ).

Well, that’s all! What invitations have you made recently? I’d love to hear about them! 

Aliessa

 

Leave a Reply

