Fresh Cuts by Lu

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Christmas Tags November 17, 2010

Filed under: 3D projects,Cards,Christmas — aliessa @ 10:16 pm

I don’t know about you, but I ADORE Dawn McVey! I love her blog, she is the most positive person, and I know, there is a lot we don’t see just from reading a person’s blog, but I always feel uplifted from reading hers (she adds in more than just craft). Anyway, recently she made a batch of Christmas tags using cream and red. I was inspired to make some of my own. These don’t look like Dawn’s, but I have used cream and red on one batch.

This first batch I LOVE! I can’t wait to put them on presents – or even cards!

I started by cutting out 15 tags from a deep red Bazzil cardstock, using my cricut. I have stamped in SU Choc Chip ink the swirl from SU Season of Joy stamp set and the very merry is from SU Short and Sweet.

I then used my cricut to cut out the doily shape from cream cardstock and the star from SU Choc chip cs. I stamped a big circle in the centre of the doily with SU Baja Breeze then layered the star with foam dimensionals, and finally adhered the whole thing with foam dimensionals to the tag. Really simple to put together, and I LOVE the way they turned out (I know, I said it already!!)

This batch took a bit more effort. I wasn’t as pleased with them as they were quite fiddly and didn’t turn out as neat as I would have liked.

Again, I started with 15 tags cut from SU Choc chip CS using my cricut. I then used the little snowflake from SU Short & Sweet to stamp the background in versamark. I cut a strip of the same red as the previous tag and embossed very merry with white embossing powder.

Now, I said this tag was fiddly. See that gorgeous medallion? That’s the fiddly part! I saw this in the SU catalogue when it was first released and gave it a go. It didn’t turn out great then. Dawn used medallions on her tags, and gave a few tips about putting them together (which was a HUGE help). To make the medallion I punched 2 scallop circles from book pages (I picked up a book on a famous cricketer from the op shop for $1.50). Punch a small hole in the centre and cut in from between 2 scallops to the centre, do the same on the second scallop circle. Accordian fold both scallops to make up the two sides of the medallion. Now you adhere the halves together with double sided tape. The fiddly part is getting it to sit flat now. Dawn suggested using foam dimensionals – believe me, plain double sided tape DOES NOT work! I went through quite a few before I reread Dawn’s post and finally got somewhere! Just take the paper off one side of the dimensional and carefully arrange the medallion over it. Then I stamped the snowflake image from SU Season of Joy onto cream cs and punched it out with the 1 1/4 ” circle punch, added a little diamonte in the centre, then used more foam dimensionals to fix it in place on top of the medallion. Finally I used the foam dimensional already on the back of the medallion to adhere it the tag. And they’re done (phew!)

Again – I’m super excited to have these ready to use really soon! Only 5 weeks to Christmas!! Yay

Thanks for stopping in today,

Aliessa

 

 

One Response to “Christmas Tags”

  1. jen shears Says:

    These are all so great!! I don’t know why I don’t use my cricut for tags!!! I think I’ll have to see if I have that doily shape too- love it!!
    I have found hot glue is the only think I have much luck with for medallions!!! The first time I tried it the tutorial said glue dots… yeah, right!!! I had them popping all apart in no time!!


Leave a Reply

